the power of choice

choice

grace

faith

3 words
3 interpretations
3 perspectives
3 power dynamics…
right?

but what if…
what if they are so intertwined
that we confound
the influence they have on each other…
what if.

can we really say
or even begin to decipher
which came first…
choice, grace, faith

right…
at first glance,
I would say choice

in the garden
Adam
Eve
the slippery snake
choosing to become like a god…
choosing to disobey…
choice

but then…
I could say grace

in the garden
Adam
Eve
the slippery snake
and a way was already made
the cross was already the plan
grace

and then maybe…
I could say faith

in the garden
Adam
Eve
the slippery snake
the need for faith was birthed

so…
which holds more power
choice
grace
or faith?
do they have differing degrees of power
or maybe the intensities are different
and therefore the power seems different?

what has become so very tangible
and evident
and self-incriminating
is the power of choice

and what is so disappointing about that
is that
I
don’t
choose
well.

I don’t.

and then I regret the choice
and loathe myself for making the choice
and beat myself up for it
and even…and I even try to justify it.

and what is even more disappointing…
is that I make that same choice again and again.

can I get a ‘me too’?

I know the outcome
I remember the anguish
and yet…
the power of that choice
seems to take control…

but grace covers that…

yes.  that is absolutely correct.
grace – getting what I don’t deserve –
does win…always.
the power of grace is not weak

and what about faith…

do I lack faith when I
exercise the power of choice?
maybe…

can’t faith…the power of faith
propel me to choose a different way?

absolutely.

choice…grace…faith

an interwoven mystery
a cyclical pattern of influence
a mass of power

perhaps I over think things
perhaps these things aren’t even remotely related
perhaps it’s not at all about the words
or the meanings…

perhaps this
choice/grace/faith
cycle is what following Christ is all about

What I’m getting at, friends, is that you should simply keep on doing what you’ve done from the beginning. When I was living among you, you lived in responsive obedience. Now that I’m separated from you, keep it up. Better yet, redouble your efforts. Be energetic in your life of salvation, reverent and sensitive before God. That energy is God’s energy, an energy deep within you, God himself willing and working at what will give him the most pleasure. – Philippians 2:12-13 (MSG)

make better choices

Betsy, make better choices.
you know better – so do better.
selfishness doesn’t win

perhaps I give
choice the power and control…

understand the true meaning of grace

getting what you don’t deserve – yes
but what about living because of that
not so that grace can cover it?
Betsy, it already has.

believe that Jesus has your heart on His mind

when you can’t see the way
or feel His presence
or taste that He is indeed good
or catch a whiff of His spirit
or hear His voice…

rely on that belief, that faith
to guide your choice.

He said to me, “My grace is enough to cover and sustain you. My power is made perfect in weakness.”  I am at peace and even take pleasure in any weaknesses, insults, hardships, persecutions, and afflictions for the sake of the Anointed because when I am at my weakest, He makes me strong. – 2 Corinthians 12:9-10 (the Voice)

forgive me.
help me.
love me.

“I want a lifetime of holy moments. Every day I want to be in dangerous proximity to Jesus. I long for a life that explodes with meaning and is filled with adventure, wonder, risk, and danger. I long for a faith that is gloriously treacherous. I want to be with Jesus, not knowing whether to cry or laugh.” – Mike Yaconelli

 

 

choosing grace…

Leave a Reply

earlier bits

May 2017
S M T W T F S
« Apr    
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  
