a matter of life and death

hope

being able to see

obstacles
roadblocks
mountains
things which hold me back
hurt
despair
brokenness
disappointment
questions…

and then…
then being able to see past those things…
to

possibility

hope.

isn’t that what this day
this resurrection day
is all about?

being able to see
being able to hear
being able to taste
being able to smell
being able to touch…
life?

right?

moving from
death to life…

as my journey of turning Lent upside down
winds down…
maybe that is what I have gleaned

every day is about living
and being alive
and feeling alive…

I remember being in a high school
computer programming class…
no, I didn’t have a distinct interest in
computers or program design, but it was required.
and in that class, we learned about the importance
of an if..then loop

if this happens
then this is the result

makes sense, right?
choices — if this happens
consequences — then this is the result

natural occurrences
conditional statements…

how super cool is the
if…then statement surrounding Easter

if you put Me to death
I will rise

if you deny me
I will still love you

if you betray me
I will die for you

if you die to yourself
because of Me, you will live

the old is gone, the new has come

becoming
doing
changing

repentance
mystery
freedom

connecting
emptying
restoring

resilience
redemption
hope

what if all of this?

because…isn’t it a matter of life and death?

I was breathing, but not alive
All my failures I tried to hide
It was my tomb
Till I met You

You called my name
And I ran out of that grave
Out of the darkness
Into Your glorious day – Glorious Day, Kristian Stanfill

and no matter how your Resurrection Sunday played out today…
if you were disappointed
if you were discouraged
if you were deeply wounded
if you were sad or lonely or depressed…

the “then” is still the same…
the “then” is always constant

simplified…
if you…
then God…

even if you…
then God will still…

grace – truly a matter of death and life

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

earlier bits

April 2017
S M T W T F S
« Mar   May »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  
