what now? redefining the next thing

I am learning,
or maybe
re-learning and
remembering
the important things…

connection
reaching out
serving and being served

as I continue to explore Lent.

often, I don’t know
what’s next for me…
and I question
the decisions I have made
the paths that I have taken
where I am headed
God’s plan for me.

and I find myself afraid…
ever been there?

fearful of…
the unknown
the “what now”
the wilderness

me too.

“God takes us into wildernesses not to abandon us – but to be alone with us.  Wildernesses are not where God takes us to hurt us – but where He speaks to our hearts.  Wildernesses can be safe because we are always safe when we are always with Him.” – Ann Voskamp

don’t you love the word “wildernesses”?
I do…
love the word that is
I have no affection really for the location

it seems like I forget that
Jesus came so that I could have life to the full…
when I am broken and feeling alone.

I came to give life with joy and abundance. – John 10:10 (the Voice)

 Now to the God who can do so many awe-inspiring things, immeasurable things, things greater than we ever could ask or imagine through the power at work in us – Ephesians 3:20 (the Voice)

you too?
I don’t feel like I am “winning”….
I definitely feel defeated – and dare I say – a “loser”

but….
what if the “next thing”
is not necessarily “winning or losing”?
what if the “what now”
for me is…

a wilderness
or silence

and….
what does it look like to win anyway?
what does it look like to lose?
is the opposite of winning – losing
or simply not winning?
and is the opposite of losing – winning
or simply not losing?
are those things the same?
and what does that look like?

does your head hurt yet?
sorry if it does…
this is what my head does
all.of.the.time.

so…back to the original thought/question…
what now?
maybe, for me at least, the answer to that
is not at all a question
but a change in perspective
a redefinition if you will

and a remembering
to connect
reach out
and serve and be served.

prayer
fasting
giving.

could the next thing
be that easy?
ah yes…
maybe it is that simple…
but not that easy.

I am thankful that I don’t have to have any of this figured out
that every day
every next thing
every wilderness
brings me deeper
and higher
and closer
to the One
who calls me
Beloved.

Relight the fire that burned so strong
Reminding me what You have done
My one request is to be changed
So lead me to the cross again

what now? grace.

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

earlier bits

April 2017
S M T W T F S
« Mar   May »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  
