what now?

 

“When you don’t know what to do next, just do the thing in front of you.” – Elisabeth Elliot

what’s in front of you?
what’s your next thing?
what now?

______________

The number 40 appears in the Bible again and again as the number of days (or years) in which a person (or a people) undertake a cleansing and life-changing journey. Rain pouring down on an ark for 40 days and nights. Forty years in the desert for the tribes of Israel before they can enter the Promised Land. Forty days in the wilderness for Jesus during which he resists the temptations to turn from God’s will. – Karen Herzog

the Lenten season is
reflective of Jesus’ 40 days/nights
of fasting and prayer
right before the Spirit led him

“Jesus saw the Spirit of God descending like a dove and coming upon Him, alighting on His very body.

Voice from Heaven:  This is My Son, whom I love; this is the Apple of My eye; with Him I am well pleased.” – Matthew 3:16-17 (the Voice)

then the Spirit led him into the wilderness
to be tempted, to be tested

the Voice translation indicates that even though Jesus had fasted for 40 days
and was hungry
he was also curiously stronger

I wonder what it looks like in my life to be curiously stronger?
have I ever been that…

  • strong
  • curiously strong

is that what this season is all about?

let’s kind of break this down a little, yes?

God “identifies” His Son

Jesus knows Who He is

“This is My Son, whom I love; this is the Apple of My eye; with Him I am well pleased.”

“My identity must be anchored to the truth of who God is and who He is to me. Only then can I find a stability beyond what my feelings will ever allow. The closer I align my truth with His truth, the more closely I identify with God—and the more my identity really is in Him.” – Lysa Terkeurst

the Spirit leads Him into the wilderness

Jesus knows where He is

The Spirit then led Jesus into the desert to be tempted by the devil

Jesus fasted for 40 days and 40 nights

Jesus knew He was not alone

Satan questioned everything about Jesus…and tested Him

if You are…

“If You are the Son of God, tell these stones to become bread”

“The more Christ fulfills the cravings of our souls, the more he changes our taste capacities from the inside out. The more we walk with him, the more we want him. The more we taste of him, the more we enjoy him. And this transforms how we live and what we live for.” – David Platt

if You are…

“If You are the Son of God, jump! And then we will see if You fulfill the Scripture…”

Jesus didn’t take the “it is what it is” attitude..

Satan continued to poke and prod…hoping to trip Jesus up

“And still the devil subjected Jesus to a third test. He took Jesus to the top of a very high mountain, and he showed Jesus all the kingdoms of the world in all their splendor and glory, their power and pomp.

If You bow down and worship me, I will give You all these kingdoms.”

then Jesus
in His brilliant wisdom
told Satan to get out!

“Get away from Me, Satan. I will not serve you.”

___________________

so…
Jesus was “identified” publicly
He was aware of where He was
He was not alone and knew Who was with Him
from the beginning, we were a big deal to Him
He is both the question and the answer
and
through it all, even in the midst of

his hunger
and
his becoming curiously stronger

we were on His mind…

our next steps were on His radar
we were His next thing…
we were His “what now”

Nothing like that had ever happened before—no eye had ever seen,
    and no ear had ever heard such wonders,
But You did them then for the sake of Your people, for those who trusted in You. – Isaiah 64:4 (the Voice)

it’s interesting to me
and intriguing to think about
the fact that we are God’s
memory of the familiar
we are familiar to Him

then
now
forever

So I give you a new command: Love each other deeply and fully. Remember the ways that I have loved you, and demonstrate your love for others in those same ways. – John 13:34 (the Voice)

and equally as interesting
is our lack of memory of the familiar

my lack of intimacy
lack of association
with the constancy of Jesus

 

so, what now?

“When you don’t know what to do next, just do the thing in front of you.” – Elisabeth Elliot

and rely on the memory of the familiar
the pattern of grace
the message of mercy
reaching out
connecting
serving and being served.
the here and now of grace…

Hope is stirring deep inside me
Making all things right – Kari Jobe

Leave a Reply

earlier bits

March 2017
S M T W T F S
« Feb   Apr »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  
