why bother?

turning Lent upside down…

the advent of Lent…

the heaviness of Tuesday…

where are you?

who’s there?

why bother?

lots of thoughts
tons of words
some making sense
some – not so much

trying to unpack
the basics

ever looked at a project
with its overdue deadlines

or your living space
that is overrun with clutter

or what you’ve accomplished
and wondered if you have made a mistake?

and thought…
why bother?

truly.
what’s the point?

the effort is too great
I am exhausted
I am frustrated
I am getting all wound around the same idea
I need fresh eyes
(I need a maid) 🙂

back to the basics…
why bother
striving
and try to go deeper
when
with one opinion
the
whole
thing
comes
crashing
down.

why bother?

the expectations for the project are too high

I can’t seem to make a dent in keeping
my own living space in order..

I never thought this would be
so controversial

why bother…

why try to figure this out..
why have a different view
a different outlook
a peculiar perspective

why bother?

you are good at your job
you are diligent
you are conscientious

baby steps
one item at a time
one room at a time

remember that I know the plans
I have for you…
to give you hope
and a future
not to set you up to fail
or feel like a failure

why bother?
hope.

seeing what stands in your way
but being able to see past that
to the possibilities

hope.

that’s why we bother.

that why I unpack my thoughts
and examine the words
that I have heard
to sift them into
truth
and
untruth

why bother?

hope.

and restoration
and redemption
and resilience

becoming
doing
changing

discovering
uncovering

why bother?

I don’t want to live in fear
I want to trust that You are near
Trust Your grace can be seen
In both triumph and tragedy – I Have This Hope, Tenth Avenue North

fussing over grace…

 

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: why bother? it is what it is | bitsofbetsy
  2. Trackback: when questions are answers | bitsofbetsy

Leave a Reply

earlier bits

March 2017
S M T W T F S
« Feb   Apr »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  
