who’s there?

I suppose this is a great place to insert a totally dumb/hilarious knock knock joke…

 

“Knock knock.”

“Who’s there?”

“A broken pencil.”

“A broken pencil who?”

“Never mind.  It’s pointless.”

ever felt the pointlessness of … something, anything?

truthfully, for me
most recently it’s been this blog.
what’s the point?

ever felt discouraged?

yeah, me too.

when I was thinking and praying about the Lenten season this year,
I knew that I wanted to do something different –
something out of the norm
….turning Lent upside down was the “something”

for me, the first week’s notions just seemed to flow
this week, I am struggling.

maybe I am still trying to figure out where I am

maybe I need this Lenten season more than I realize…

what if…this is Jesus moving into the complex, messy places of my life to be with me in my struggles and darkness to offer healing and hope in the midst of my pain? – Mark McMinn

what if this is a call to keeping moving
a call to growth

so, back to the question at hand…
who’s there?

maybe the nights are long and lonely

“loneliness”

maybe the days are cloudy

“doubt”

maybe the future looks grim

“fear”

maybe some other voices are knocking…

shame
guilt
unworthiness
obligation
hypocrisy

who’s there?

do you know what is amazing to me?

i.answer.
every.single.time

i greet shame and guilt
i don’t stand in the way as unworthiness and obligation
bully their way in
hypocrisy has a key to my locked door

who’s there?

do you know what else is kind of fascinating?
these things don’t respect me
honor me
….they don’t even knock at my door –
they have a sense of entitlement
and barge right in —
especially when I am in the middle of something

beautiful and true, honorable, right, pure, lovely, good, virtuous and praiseworthy. (Philippians 4:8)

and I tend not to stand in their way
and then wonder why I am
bitter
dissatisfied
restless
sad
and feeling sorry for myself.

who’s there?

when I hear a rustle

who’s there?

when I have this feeling I can’t shake

who’s there?

when I feel like I am alone in the wilderness?

is anybody out there?

“Sometimes when you lose your way, you find yourself.” – Mandy Hale

You don’t have to fight this on your own.  I always go ahead of you.  I fight for you.  I have your back.  I know that you are feeling alone in this barren place, but haven’t you seen me – sheltering you and cradling you?  Trust me.  I have taken care of you.  I will always show you the right way to go.  (my own paraphrase of Deuteronomy 1:31-33)

“The Lord will fight for you; you need only to be still.” – Exodus 14:14

so, as I am discovering where I am
I am counting on not being alone.

and it’s not pointless.

  See, you have nothing to fear. I, who made you, will take you back.
        I have chosen you, named you as My own.
     When you face stormy seas I will be there with you with endurance and calm;
        you will not be engulfed in raging rivers.
    If it seems like you’re walking through fire with flames licking at your limbs,
        keep going; you won’t be burned. – Isaiah 43:1-2

who’s there?
always-present grace.

 

 

 

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: why bother? | bitsofbetsy
  2. Trackback: when questions are answers | bitsofbetsy
  3. Trackback: what now? | bitsofbetsy

Leave a Reply

earlier bits

March 2017
S M T W T F S
« Feb   Apr »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  
