where are you? gathering clues

where-are-you-pinpoint

where are you?

if you had to tell someone exactly where you were…
what would you say?
what information would you provide?
what are some clues?

do you know where you are?

I think that is the bigger question…

let’s work through this…

right now, I am sitting at my desk
typing on my computer
my desk light is on
I see pens
and papers
and post-its

I have Tenth Avenue North playing
I hear the keys of the keyboard clicking with each letter
I hear the furnace intermittently kick on and off
I can hear some traffic outside

I can feel the edge of my desk on my forearms as I type
I feel the smooth keys on the keyboard
I feel the solidness of the chair supporting me

I smell the scent of “clean” wafting through my room from my Wallflower
I smell the lingering scent of bleach left over from a night of cleaning

I taste my morning coffee.

 

5 – 4 – 3 – 2 – 1
(I actually just walked you through a grounding technique)
here
in the
present
aware of my surroundings
able to identify and name them

so…back to the question at hand
where are you?

I kind of am referring both to a
heart place
and a physical location

if you are journeying with me on
this upside-down Lenten adventure
(how’s that going for you, by the way?)
then you are understanding the
importance and necessity of
knowing where you are.

so…here are some questions
to answer with your heart
to search deep within yourself
to answer honestly
to be open to

in your current “Jesus heart” location
what do you see?
what do you hear?
what do you feel?
what do you smell?
what do you taste?

do you see

failure
a dead-end
the same thing, day after day after day
no way out?

or

hope
a way through
new things, every morning
an escape hatch?

Those who look to him are radiant;
    their faces are never covered with shame. – Psalm 34:5

do you hear

the voice of shame
the whispers of inadequacy
the shouts of pain
the mumbling of accusation

or

I love you.
You are enough.
Let me carry that with you.
You are free.

Then he was told, “Go, stand on the mountain at attention before God. God will pass by.”

A hurricane wind ripped through the mountains and shattered the rocks before God, but God wasn’t to be found in the wind; after the wind an earthquake, but God wasn’t in the earthquake; and after the earthquake fire, but God wasn’t in the fire; and after the fire a gentle and quiet whisper. – 1 Kings 19:12 (MSG)

do you feel

shame
guilt
disgust
alone

or

grace
freedom
beautiful
full.

When you feel dried up and worthless, God will nourish you and give you strength. And you will grow like a garden lovingly tended; you will be like a spring whose water never runs out. – Isaiah 58:11 (the Voice)

do you smell

the acrid stench of unworthiness
the rotten odor of failure

or

the sweet aroma of mercy
the fragrance of forgiveness

In a turbulent world where people are either dying or being rescued, we are the sweet smell of the Anointed to God our Father. – 2 Corinthians 2:15 (the Voice)

do you taste

the bitterness

or

the goodness?

Open your mouth and taste, open your eyes and see— how good God is. Blessed are you who run to him. – Psalm 34:8 (MSG)

put your senses to work
use them to pinpoint your location
and provide clues to where you are

grace.


here are some songs that might help:

Stray – The Assemblie

I See God in You – Josh Wilson

Faith My Eyes – Caedmon’s Call

Dove’s Eyes – Misty Edwards

Touch the Sky – Hillsong

Holding My Hand – Kristian Stanfill

Holding Onto Hope – Jenny and Tyler

We are Listening – Sojourn

Beautiful History – Plumb

Come as You Are – Pocket Full of Rocks

Be Still – Storyside b

Come as You Are – Crowder

Healing Hand of God – Jeremy Camp

 

 

 

 

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: who’s there? | bitsofbetsy
  2. Trackback: why bother? it is what it is | bitsofbetsy
  3. Trackback: when questions are answers | bitsofbetsy

Leave a Reply

earlier bits

March 2017
S M T W T F S
« Feb   Apr »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  
