when my heart is silent

image by RoCafe

image by RoCafe

silent
completely quiet, still, hushed, noiseless

beating
working
pumping
loving
working

and yet…
silent.

peace
gentle
unhurried
hope

be still…and know (Psalm 46)

what if…

be still…and let Me work
be still…and hear Me
be still…and {re}discover
be still…and search for Me
be still…and feel
be still…and taste My goodness
be silent.
let God be God.

In You I rest, In You I found my hope.
In You I trust, You never let me go.
I place my life within Your hands alone.
Be still, my soul. – Kari Jobe, Be Still My Soul (In You I Rest)

maybe not what is first thought by a “silent heart”
lonely, isolated, fearful, anxious, deafness, sad, awkward
but, what if a silent heart is
a good
a very good
thing?
not to be confused with or confounded by the notion of
laziness
or lack of interest
or zero ambition and initiative
but
reliance
leaning on and into
vulnerability
strength
courage
bravery.
when my heart is silent…
then, maybe I can truly hear.
the silence of grace.

Leave a Reply

earlier bits

February 2017
S M T W T F S
« Jan   Mar »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728  
