winds of change

I think we are conditioned – not “good” or “bad” – to achieve…
to be “someone”
to do “something”
and so, we have goals
we dream dreams
we chase after those things.

when does the chasing stop?

I’ve been journeying with God for the better part of three decades of my life
and I have never had a concrete idea of what I was to achieve…
who I was to be
what I was to do.

I’ve been working in the food industry for almost 20 years…as a means to pay the bills.
I’m the lunch lady…
the baker…
the cook…
before that…
human resources work
and even a stint as a youth pastor.

and through it all, I haven’t been quite settled…
is this all there is to me?
is this the legacy I’m leaving?
is this what I was made to do??

these questions continued to
frustrate me
confuse me
unsettle me….

So the Lord changed the wind. – Exodus 10:19 (NCV)

the wind in my sails pointed me,
moved me,
in an altogether different direction…

the winds of change.
when they sweep over you
and envelope you
and surround you…it is the most freeing
and frightening
and comforting
feeling.
to know that you are indeed made for more.

You are not who you were yesterday,

You are not who you will be tomorrow.

You’re in the middle of the beautiful process of becoming. – Holly Gerth

becoming…
becoming who you were made to be.

that realization of who you are made to be may not be clear…
maybe it’s muddled
maybe you are chasing after it
maybe it is chasing after you.

maybe God is in the process of changing the wind…

trust the process.

it’s difficult.
it’s scary.
it’s exhilarating.
it’s humbling.

trust the winds of change…
you may not see those winds,
but you will witness the things that are encountered by them.

After the fire died out, there was nothing but the sound of a calm breeze. And through this breeze a gentle, quiet voice entered into Elijah’s ears. He covered his face with his cloak and went to the mouth of the cave. Suddenly, Elijah was surprised. Eternal One: Why are you here, Elijah? What is it that you desire? – 1 Kings 19:12-13 (the Voice)

gentle, calming winds of grace…

 

Leave a Reply

earlier bits

January 2015
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Feb »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031
