a night at the museum

1214141745-00

I grew up in a museum.
not literally…
things were displayed everywhere…
nicely displayed
displayed with thought and care
and with intent…
but as a kid growing up, I learned to not touch anything…
it’s almost as if there were “ropes” surrounding every little nook in our home
…keep out
…don’t touch
…these are to look at, not touch

now, I tend to enter into people’s homes
and not touch anything…
not even look at their stuff…

strange, I know…

I had the extreme privilege to have my best friend and her
13 month-old daughter over for dinner the other night…
I still live with my dad, the “rope-guy” but he was out of state,
so, with a newly-walking-a-little-over-one-year-old in
“the museum”
I wanted to respect my parents’ things, and yet not be over-bearing…

I am pleased to report that the baby survived her first trip to a museum
without incident
without breakage…
yay!!

then I started thinking about deep things…
(it’s just the way I work)
like God and “ropes” and museums.

do I have a “do not touch” mentality with Him?
do I have a form over function relationship with Him?
do I have a “keep out” policy with Him?
or maybe I have erected ropes to only allow Him access so far to my life…
or maybe I see Him as having ropes around Him…only allowing me access so far, so close to Him…

“Everyone sees what you appear to be, few experience what you really are.”
— Niccolò Machiavelli

maybe I have that mindset with others…
maybe I look like I have it all together…
but what is beyond the ropes?

maybe I need to spend a night in God’s museum…
exploring…
touching…
jumping the ropes (albeit invisible)…
looking…
seeking…
embracing…
sitting in wonder…
feeling…

“What’s the whole point of being pretty on the outside when you’re so ugly on the inside?”
— Jess C. Scott

The Lord doesn’t see things the way you see them. People judge by outward appearance, but the Lord looks at the heart. – 1 Samuel 16:7 (NLT)

waiting in a season of advent…
of anticipation…
of wanting…
of waiting…
in tension between what is and what is to come.

grace explored…

Leave a Reply

earlier bits

December 2014
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Jan »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  
