knockin’ on heaven’s door

Betty and Kai Leeann

 

today marks Day 14 that my aunt Betty has been in the hospital.

she has spent the past 2 years in a nursing facility suffering with dementia
but there is something
unknown to everyone at this time
that is shutting her down

fourteen days of decline
fourteen days of exhaustion
fourteen days of just watching her sleep
fourteen days of wondering ‘is this the day?’

of course I remember Betty…much like in this picture
full of life
on the go
dedicated
caring
a great cookie baker
headstrong
stubborn
loving…

and now I see Betty…
asleep
not knowing where she is or who we are

asking me to put her shoes on
telling me I am valuable
saying she feels safe
saying she’s ready to go…

afraid at times
not really eating
and all the while
still singing in her sleep…

“though none go with me, still I will follow”
“and He walks with me, and He talks with me…”
“glory, glory hallelujah”
“praise ye the Lord, hallelujah”

oh, the conversations she must have when no one can see
talking with God
chatting it up with her mom and dad
visiting with aunts and uncles
her brother
her sister Esther
and my mom, her sister…

the reality is that she is moving on to better
a sound mind
a healthy body
surrounded by love

the day is near…
the time is fleeting…

it’s time to go home.

go in grace…

Leave a Reply

earlier bits

July 2014
S M T W T F S
« Jun   Sep »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  
