long overdue

jen and babies2

needed or expected for some time
behind schedule
delinquent
late.

my friend is expecting
and the arrival
of the little one
is
long
overdue

ok
a week…
but, I can only imagine that
that is 1 day too long!

having never been ‘expecting’
I don’t know what it feels like
to be due
or overdue

but,
there are some things
that I have expected…with anticipation

a thanks
an acknowledgment
an apology
a word of praise
a glimpse of forgiveness
reconciliation
restoration
a raise
a break
sleep
an answer to prayer
sometimes just an answer

an often
their arrival
is
long
overdue.

and long-awaited.

we wait
we wait
we pace
we cry out
we feel tied up
hopeless
helpless
hurt
angry
disappointed
discouraged
lonely

When you face stormy seas I will be there with you with endurance and calm;
        you will not be engulfed in raging rivers.
    If it seems like you’re walking through fire with flames licking at your limbs,
        keep going; you won’t be burned.
    Because I, the Eternal One, am your God. – Isaiah 43:2(the Voice)

 

and we know this…
we believe this…

even still…
peace
joy
love
patience
gentleness
seem to be distant and aloof.

but
there within reach
just beyond the fog
just past the static
close enough to touch
is Jesus

His house is my shelter and secret retreat.
    It is there I find peace in the midst of storm and turmoil.
Safety sits with me in the hiding place of God.
    He will set me on a rock, high above the fray – Psalm 27:5 (the Voice)

 

From the corners of creation
Comes the Father’s holy breath
Ridin’ on a storm with tender fierceness
Stirring my soul to holiness

And like a mighty wind blows with a force I cannot see
I will open wide my wings, I will open wide my wings
I will open wide my wings and let the Spirit carry me – Chris Rice (Wind and Spirit)

 

there
I can see it
I can feel it
new life is there…
so close, you can hear it breathing. (Sarah Bessey)

in the midst of expectation
and longing
in the pain
in the waiting
in the disappointment
and discouragement
and loneliness

and all of the long overdue
things

is new life…
fresh breath…
soaring on Spirit wings…

But those who trust in the Eternal One will regain their strength.
    They will soar on wings as eagles.
They will run—never winded, never weary.
    They will walk—never tired, never faint – Isaiah 40:31 (the Voice)

long-awaited grace.

 

Leave a Reply

earlier bits

June 2014
S M T W T F S
« May   Jul »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  
