when awesome is spelled b-r-a-v-e

brave2

to be free to write our own story…follow our hearts… and find love in our own time – Merida

do you know those folks who are
courageous…in the face of daunting circumstances
fearless…in the face of adversity
bold…in the midst of uncertainty
brave?

I do.

in the coming years and decades, I suspect I will meet more folks
whose strengths are in
their coping strategies…the things that have allowed them to survive.

but, in the last thirty weeks, I have had the extreme privilege and opportunity to get to know and grow to love some pretty
awesome – spelled b-r-a-v-e
folks.

“You can’t be brave if you’ve only had wonderful things happen to you.”
Mary Tyler Moore

I want to be like a lot of them when I grow up.

to face adversity…
clothed in grace and splendor

to champion for the sanctity of others

to be an
overcomer
an
achiever

to demonstrate
resiliency
and
perseverance

“We could never learn to be brave and patient if there were only joy in the world”
Helen Keller

to love God
with
all
that
I
am.

to have the courage to be who I am created to be.

“Owning our story can be hard but not nearly as difficult as spending our lives running from it. Embracing our vulnerabilities is risky but not nearly as dangerous as giving up on love and belonging and joy—the experiences that make us the most vulnerable. Only when we are brave enough to explore the darkness will we discover the infinite power of our light.”
Brené Brown

to be vulnerable

“If we are going to find our way out of shame and back to each other, vulnerability is the path and courage is the light. To set down those lists of *what we’re supposed to be* is brave. To love ourselves and support each other in the process of becoming real is perhaps the greatest single act of daring greatly.” — Brené Brown

and open
and real

“Yes, I am imperfect and vulnerable and sometimes afraid, but that doesn’t change the truth that I am also brave and worthy of love and belonging.”
Brené Brown (The Gifts of Imperfection: Let Go of Who You Think You’re Supposed to Be and Embrace Who You Are)

and genuine

bold
courageous
brave.

“”What does it mean if i’m afraid? Does it mean something bad is going to happen?  No, it doesn’t mean something bad is going to happen. It just means that you have the chance to be brave.”
C. JoyBell C.

I was told not long ago that I was brave
…still working on believing and living that

but…
I do want to be
brave
strong
courageous

I’ve been hanging on to this verse for quite some time…

Remember that I commanded you to be strong and brave. Don’t be afraid, because the Lord your God will be with you everywhere you go. – Josh 1:9 (NCV)

any strength or courage or boldness
awesomeness or
bravery
is only because of Christ.

to have this blog
this place where I can process
thoughts
emotions
ideas
questions
to be bold and brave in it
is a way to write my story
to live my life on pages
without reservation
to be broken and vulnerable and unmasked

Only through my/our brokenness and vulnerability can I/we find, examine, and mend the pieces of  myself/ourselves and put them back together whole. – Tammy Strait

may I be brave in this process.

And please pray for me. Pray that truth will be with me before I even open my mouth. Ask the Spirit to guide me while I boldly defend the mystery that is the good news—so pray that I can bravely pronounce the truth, as I should do. – Ephesians 6:19-20 (the Voice)

Maybe there’s a way out of the cage where you live
Maybe one of these days you can let the light in
Show me how big your brave is

Say what you wanna say
And let the words fall out – Sara Bareilles, Brave

awesome grace…spelled b-r-a-v-e

Leave a Reply

earlier bits

May 2014
S M T W T F S
« Apr   Jun »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031
