dance with the limp

Eugene Delacroix

Eugene Delacroix

Jacob wrestling with the angel….
or is he?

Genesis 32:22-32 lays out the story…

fortitude
determination
endurance
pluck
spunk

or maybe…
stubbornness
hardheadedness
relentless
steadfast

what if…
Jacob was being taught
how
to
dance
??

what if…
Jacob was doing his own steps
stubbornly, hardheadedly, steadfastly…

and God simply wanted him to fall in step with Him
to follow His lead…??

what if…
God is trying
in the midst of my wrestling
for clarity
for purpose
for fulfillment
for a place to belong…
what if He is trying to teach me how to dance?

“We can so easily get lost in the constant demands of life that we develop habits of nonstop busyness and wonder why we feel empty and isolated. We need to develop a dance of life in which we regularly disengage from life as usual and get away with God for rest and renewal. Then we can engage once again in the life and love of God and others. Life in these rhythms becomes a dance with the Trinity—Father, Son and Holy Spirit—along with all of the people around us.” -from “Spiritual Rhythms in Community” by Keith Meyer

in the middle of my wrestling
(which I think is good for me, and necessary for my growth and understanding)
God is teaching me – if I allow that
God is preparing me – if I am open to that
God is guiding me – if I follow Him
God is loving me – if I take time to notice.


“We’re gonna make it. We’re gonna make it. Just keep listening to Me my love…

I’ve got you. It’s okay. Follow Me now. Right leg. Left leg.  I’ve got you. I’ve got you.
It’s okay. I love you. Just keep your eyes on me. Listen only to My voice. Follow me.

I. Love. You.” – Karen Ehman

even when the consequence
of my choices, of me “doing my own thing”
of me not listening
leaves me with a limp…

what if…
God just wants me to dance?

even when I can’t hear the music
or follow the beat
or even know the first thing about moving to the rhythm…

God wants me to dance.
and
He
wants
me
to
dance
with
the limp.

Ever patiently accepting me
Lord, You love in spite of everything I do
But oh so faithfully
You’re committed to the process that makes me like You
And I feel like I can dance
Oh You make me want to dance – Just the Way I Am, Big Daddy Weave

dancing because of grace…

 

Leave a Reply

earlier bits

May 2014
S M T W T F S
« Apr   Jun »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031
