for the sake of the call

CALL-TO-ACTION-FRAMED

oh, how I wish “the call” from God would look like this…
loud
concise
clear

as I addressed recently in “off the hook
hearing and answering the call of God on my life hasn’t looked anything like this

now
I
am
at
that
place
again.

questioning what I heard and felt
re-evaluating
re-examining

being humbled
and
knocked on my hindquarters

I read this quote this morning from Renee Fisher…
“God calls us long before He changes our landscape, position of leadership, or status. It’s during the waiting that we have time to get to know God. It’s in this time we are equipped. We are poured into. We are tested and tried and (hopefully) found ready.”

I am in a place
doing what I think I have been called to do
at this time in my life
and yet
I question.

could it be that this time is for me
to get to know God?
(I obviously need to be equipped)
to be poured into?

I am old enough to remember when Steven Curtis Chapman’s
“For the Sake of the Call”
came out…
and I could sing that with the rest of ’em – ready to abandon it all
wholly devoted to live and to die…

but now, am I in the same head-space, in the same heart-space?

Nobody stood and applauded them
So they knew from the start
This road would not lead to fame
All they really knew for sure was Jesus had called to them
He said “Come follow me” and they came
With reckless abandon they came – For the Sake of the Call

I know that this road will not lead to fame
but honestly, I feel alone
in that I don’t get the applause and approval
I think that I need
(Facebook can be a detriment to me…)
that I flounder in theories
and diagnoses
and techniques
and stories
and trying to listen and remember and be empathic…

is this what I am called to do?
is this my future?
I say “this is what God has called me to”
but
have I recklessly abandoned it all to be obedient?

have I been courageous?
have I acted even when surrounded by fear?
do I have the courage to be who I am?
do I know who I am?

so many questions…

“God calls us long before He changes our landscape, position of leadership, or status. It’s during the waiting that we have time to get to know God. It’s in this time we are equipped. We are poured into. We are tested and tried and (hopefully) found ready.” – Renee Fisher

but for now…

 

trusting in grace…

Leave a Reply

earlier bits

May 2014
S M T W T F S
« Apr   Jun »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031
