arrested development

TV show on Netflix - all right belong to them

TV show on Netflix – all rights belong to them

arrested  development  –

noun
an abnormal state in which development has stopped prematurely

have you ever been in that state?

(I think it may be number 51 in the count…. 🙂
it’s ok – – perhaps that was a failed attempt at some humor)

but seriously, have you ever been there?
a place where you think you have stopped
growing
maturing
learning
progressing
and you think you are
stagnant
stunted
decreasing
retreating

I sure have been.

past
present

it’s funny how I (we) listen to the “voice” of the Enemy…
funny in that I hear it, I recognize it, and I believe it.
why is it that I wonder when it’s God’s voice talking to me?
(somewhat rhetorical)
am I not “still” enough to know that it is God? (Psalm 46:10)
do I spend too much time sitting with the lies and listening to the static that it is familiar to me?

and, what does that listening, and eventual believing get me?
depression
aggravation
frustration
stagnation
paralysis…

what if, the more time I spend with God, the more I recognize and follow His voice…
I don’t fight against his shaping and molding
I don’t struggle…

what if what I came to see and believe as “arrested development”
premature stopping of any forward motion
in “gritty, unsanitary experiences” (McMinn)
has simply been God chiseling
and molding
and shaping
and redeeming my life?

what difference would that make?

“God is using all of your experiences, both good and bad, to develop your character to match your calling.”
— Lysa TerKeurst

what if all along this has been character development?
what if…
this has been Jesus moving into the complex, messy places of my life
to be with me in my struggles and darkness
to offer healing and hope in the midst of my pain? – Mark McMinn

that, my friends, feels like redemption

redeeming grace..

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: who’s there? | bitsofbetsy

Leave a Reply

earlier bits

February 2014
S M T W T F S
« Jan   Mar »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
232425262728  
