cross country

cross strength

Lead me to the cross
Where Your love poured out
Bring me to my knees
Lord I lay me down
Rid me of myself
I belong to You – Lead Me to the Cross, Chris and Conrad

the cross…
strong
mighty
death
life
freedom
agony
suffering
redemption
nakedness

what an image…
Lead me to the cross
Where Your love poured out
Bring me to my knees
Lord I lay me down
Rid me of myself
I belong to You

I was reminded today
of the centrality of the cross

this picture sums it up for me…

cross great divide(photo courtesy of lastdaysministries.org)

the cross (Jesus) bridging the gap between me and God…
now, imagine this…
the cross (Jesus) bridging the gap between a client and God…
the cross (Jesus) traversing the canyon between client and therapist
between husband and wife
between two friends
between….just making travel across the expanse possible

yes, of course, the Cross is the only way that we can reach God…
but, the power of the cross is so much more intense than that!
it (Jesus) can break down barriers
span the canyons of hatred and jealousy and hurt and pain…
Jesus makes a way for restoration…

what if we made where we live
where we work
our relationships, our daily interactions….
“cross country” – where Jesus spans the division ?

a place of safety and freedom
a land of redemption and do-overs
a community where the distance between two people bridged and seen through the transparency of the cross…

sit with that image for a minute…

a bridge of grace…

 

Leave a Reply

earlier bits

February 2014
S M T W T F S
« Jan   Mar »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
232425262728  
