all aboard!

train_tracks

thoughts race through my mind like a freight train headed home
waiting for me to catch a ride.
the cars are not unfamiliar…I’ve been a rider before
following the tracks of insecurity, loneliness and despair
or the railway of peace and contentment
or perhaps the Little Engine that Could leads the way….I think I can, I think I can…
and then the proud line approaches the station, full of itself

I’ve ridden each of these, and then some…
I’ve been the conductor of many.

like these “trains”, thoughts run through my mind…
do I board any of them?  do I just let them pass?

sometimes unknowingly, I have laid the tracks, paved the way for these trains to run
but
I don’t have to get on any of them.
I know where they go…
the choice is mine.

peace and contentment doesn’t always have the most riders
there is plenty of room for me

and yet, I get on – and stay on – the train that I know I shouldn’t be riding
yes, I board it – wanting others to board it with me
and yes, I ride – often for far too long.
thankfully, the rides are shorter now…

one day, I won’t even bother with the trains that lead nowhere.

until then, when I hear the “toot-toot” of the whistle
and feel the earth rumble as the train approaches…
the call of the conductor
“all aboard”
doesn’t need to include me.

when the trains near the station,
“Your ears will hear sweet words behind you: “Go this way. There is your path; this is how you should go” whenever you must decide whether to turn to the right or the left.” – Isaiah 31:21 (the Voice)

grace engineered…

(train analogy courtesy of Professor Brad Imhoff, Ashland Theological Seminary)

Leave a Reply

earlier bits

January 2014
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Feb »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  
