to save a life

ecclesiastes

I won’t begin to tell you that I can fully grasp this…

nor do I fully understand Isaiah 55:8-9

My intentions are not always yours,
and I do not go about things as you do.
My thoughts and My ways are above and beyond you,
just as heaven is far from your reach here on earth.

but, what I do know is that God is God and I am not – and that causes me pause
especially when dealing with death and grief and new birth and the grief that sometimes exists with that

a precious and dear man went to be with Jesus early this morning…
there is a season
the family is grieving and wondering
and perhaps wandering
there is a season
he will be missed

and so I pause…

I had coffee with a dear friend of mine a couple of days ago…and her precious little one
her miracle baby
every time she snuggles in to me, I give thanks…overwhelming thanks
there is a season
and the season of emptiness and longing for a baby was excruciatingly drawn-out
God’s thoughts…God’s ways….
inconceivably infuriating…
if I am honest

the knowledge that before the hole in this family was filled
God knew
God formed, God shaped, God designed
You see all things;
You saw me growing, changing in my mother’s womb;
Every detail of my life was already written in Your book;
You established the length of my life before I ever tasted the sweetness of it. – Psalm 139:16 (the Voice)

God had a plan to save some lives.

long before her birth, God planted a seed of desire in my friends’ hearts
for love
looking back at their lives
He was watering, and fertilizing, and making the Son shine on that seed
and it grew
maybe in ways that no one would ever dream possible
and it matured through heartache and disappointment and pain

the hole has been filled with this precious little one
there is a season
God’s ways are higher than our ways
there is a reason
they have been given the opportunity to smother this little one with love
and to give her safe harbor

they have saved her life

she has saved theirs.

Where love takes you in and everything changes
A miracle starts with the beat of a heart
When love takes you home and says you belong here
The loneliness ends and a new life begins
When love takes you in – Steven Curtis Chapman, When Love Takes You In

When death collides with love and birth intersects with rebirth, pain mingles with fierce beauty. – Angela Nazworth

saving grace…

Leave a Reply

earlier bits

January 2014
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Feb »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  
