crying uncle

defeated-man1
“Life isn’t about perfection…it’s about being utterly relentless and refusing to give up, give in, or stay down until you’re done. – Holley Gerth

let’s break in down…

utterly – completely, absolutely, fully, wholly, totally
relentless – incessant, unyielding, unbroken, persistent
refuse – to reject, say no, not budging, to decline
give up – abandon, relinquish, cease, throw in the towel
give in – admit defeat, concede, pull out, resign, cry uncle
stay down – not get up

life is about…being totally unbroken and not budging on the fact that you are not throwing in the towel, not crying uncle, or not getting up – Betsy Coy 🙂

I just read this quote this morning, and it has come at the perfect time.
yesterday I felt overwhelmed, defeated, incapable, small, like I was drowning in this sea of information and expectation and I couldn’t catch my breath.

I felt like throwing in the towel and giving up.

I don’t know about you, but I sure am thankful for new mornings, and new beginnings!  God is certainly faithful!  (Lam. 3:23)
to be able to read that life isn’t about knowing it all, having all of the answers…
that it is truly about not staying down and defeated when I am drowning…

Blessed are those who make You their strength, for they treasure every step of the journey.  On their way…they stop and dig wells to collect the refreshing spring water.  They journey from place to place, gaining strength along the way. – Psalm 84:5-7 (the Voice)

some days, I am totally walking in the strength of God…and treasuring every moment.
other days, I am digging….
yesterday was a day to shovel.

and today…well today, I must go and tackle some Abnormal Psychology! 😉

relentless grace…

 

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Rachel Rohrer
    Jan 10, 2014 @ 13:14:17

    betsy-i am amazed at your talent & gift w/ words. your way of “hitting the nail on the head” is awesome. I love you & am so thankful we are friends. just remember-this friend is praying for you & I have plenty of hugs to share.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

earlier bits

January 2014
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Feb »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  
