the din of peace

1105131545-00

“We are starved for intimacy, to see and feel and know God in the very cells of our being.  We are starved for rest, to know God beyond what we can do for him.  We are starved for quiet, to hear the sound of sheer silence that is the presence of God himself”. – Invitation to Solitude and Silence, Ruth Haley Barton

retreat…
rest…
solitude…
silence…
peace.

the sound of the falls was clear.
the power of the water was noticeable.
the presence of God was deafening.

a pause in the busyness of life
a break in the day-to-day
a time to be refreshed and renewed

a time to contemplate…not only the unknown future
but also
the familiar present.

Psalm 23 (the Voice)

The Eternal is my shepherd, He cares for me always.

He knows my name
He knows my every thought
He sees each tear that falls
And He hears me when I call

He provides me rest in rich, green fields beside streams of refreshing water.

He soothes my fears.

He makes me whole again, steering me off worn, hard paths to roads where truth and righteousness echo His name.

He knows my name
He knows my every thought
He sees each tear that falls
And He hears me when I call

Even in the unending shadows of death’s darkness, I am not overcome by fear.
Because you are with me in those dark moments, near with Your protection and guidance, I am comforted.

You spread out a table before me, provisions in the midst of attack from my enemies;
You care for all my needs, anointing my head with soothing fragrant oil filling my cup again and again with Your grace.

He knows my name
He knows my every thought
He sees each tear that falls
And He hears me when I call

Certainly Your faithful protection and loving provision will pursue me where I go, always, everywhere.
I will always be with the Eternal, in Your house forever.

rest.
stillness.
quiet.
peace.

to hear the sound of sheer silence that is the presence of God himself.
the moments I will forever cherish.

named by grace…

Leave a Reply

earlier bits

November 2013
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Dec »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
