there is more than one way to skin a cat

skin a cat

there IS more than one way to skin a cat….
(but who in the world would want to?)

anyway…
there is more than one way to do something, many things

for instance…
there is more than one way to drive/go to your work
there is more than one way to prepare and/or eat your breakfast
there is more than one way to take a shower – no need to follow the same sequence of parts each time
(although, I do think I would have to rewash in my perceived correct order to feel clean!)
but I digress….
there is more than one way to mow the yard
there is more than one way to load the dishwasher
there is more than one way to ______________________ (fill in the blank)

more than one way….
more than just
black
and
white

my way is NOT the only way
my way is NOT always the best

but….
how often do I live my seconds as if…

maybe I have a plan
I see a plan

do this
get this result

don’t do this
get no result

black
white

but what if….
the plan is not my own
and there is more than one way to skin that cat!

do this….
this way
that way
another way

get this result….
maybe in a different form
maybe not at all what I expected
maybe longer, maybe shorter

the possibilities become virtually endless
and the options open up
right
before
my
eyes!

to be so closed in this
black and white
box
that the possibilities are
seen but seemingly not accessible
or even limited to
one
or the other
is
suffocating
and
paralyzing

however….
to see the box disintegrate and slowly disappear
is
liberating!

hopeful
thankful
expectant
trusting
at ease

replace the

unenthusiastic
unhappy
apathetic
shell of existence

that, my friends, is a great way to skin a cat!!

“I don’t think the way you think.
The way you work isn’t the way I work.” – Isaiah 55:8 (MSG)

limitless grace…

Leave a Reply

earlier bits

September 2013
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Oct »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  
