simply sensational

Do what God tells you. Walk in the paths he shows you… – 1 Kings 2:3 (MSG)

truly blind faith.
believing, trusting without the use of the senses…

…not seeing, feeling, touching, smelling, or hearing
do what God says…walk in the way He shows you.

scary.
exciting.
adventuresome.
challenging.
did I mention scary??

we all have a story.
we are all on a journey.
similar as they may be, each one of us is unique in the specifics of that tale.

these last few months have been a time of stretching, and maturing, and hurting, and pain
and triumph, and realization, and “aha” moments, and understanding, and acceptance

as I am looking back at the story of my life so far, I am seeing the pieces fitting together…
(isn’t it neat and totally God when that happens?)
there are things I do not understand or get…
but apparently I am not supposed to…yet

“I don’t think the way you think.
The way you work isn’t the way I work.”
– Isaiah 55:8 (MSG)

although the pieces are forming a bigger picture, there are fragments that are still “floating” out there
dangling
…at least from my limited perspective

as I look ahead (which is new for me), I look with hopeful expectation (again, new for me)

do you ever hesitate thinking that things could actually fall into place?
that this could really happen?

blind faith.
true faith.

for decades, I have thought: “God’s in control, so whatever He wants to happen will happen.”
and although I still believe that, I am taking a more active role in the scenario also known as my life

active instead of passive
engaging instead of indifferent

it’s a journey, that’s for sure!
almost learning to walk again…

to become reacquainted with my senses…Simply-Sensational-Truffles-54018
to truly “taste and see” that God is good – Psalm 34:8
to touch, to be able to feel the exhaustive (all-out) grace of God – Ephesians 1:7-8
to hear His still small voice saying “this is the way, go here” – Isaiah 30:21
to see a tiny bit of God’s hope-filled plan for me – Jeremiah 29:11
to smell like Christ – 2 Corinthians 2:15

being obedient…yikes! right?
what is God going to ask of me?

but…it’s kind of like this:
the Spirit of God becomes alive in us
He lives in and through us
so…
our actions – His fruit growing because of that Life
are simply a response

obedience as a response to Him
trusting because we have protection and freedom through Him, because of Him
loving only because He lives in us and consumes every cell of who we are
as I eagerly, cautiously, nervously
enter this next phase of my life
I do so
with full knowledge, with absolute trust
that freedom and protection are surrounding me
at that, my friends
is
simply sensational!!

consumed by grace…

So I’ll stand
With arms high and heart abandoned
In awe of the one who gave it all
So I’ll stand
My soul Lord to you surrendered
All I am is yours

 

Leave a Reply

earlier bits

July 2013
S M T W T F S
« Jun   Aug »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  
