here’s your sign

We were in the park…flying a kite and a guy walks up and says “You flying a
kite?”…”Nope, we’re fishing for birds.” Here’s your sign!

I stayed back late at work one afternoon last week and I had a co-worker looked
at me and said “are you still here ??” I said no, I left 10 minutes ago …
Here’s your sign !!

Last time I had a flat tire, I pulled my truck into one of those side-of-the-road gas stations.
The attendant walks out, looks at my truck, looks at me, and I SWEAR he said, “Tire go flat?”
I couldn’t resist. said, “Nope. I was driving around and those other three just swelled right up on me.
Here’s your sign.”
  – jokes based on comedy by Bill Engvall
heres-your-sign
although I do indeed find great humor in jokes such as this…there is an underlying sense of, let me say, ‘stupidity’ that goes along with them.
or to be PC…lack of wisdom.

but then I wonder, how many times have I needed a sign?
how many times have I stated the obvious, only to be amazed at the answer or result?

God must laugh every time I open my mouth…especially when I think something wise and profound will come out.
instead, I have a “here’s your sign” moment.

but, how many times, do I crave, or at least think that I need a sign?
is it because I am not sure God is really there or listening?
have I lost all hope?
am I at the end of everything I know to be true?
do I not see the light at the end of the tunnel?
do I not trust that God’s got this?

yep.  I need a sign.

this morning, I think I was up before the chickens.  I was with my dad on the way to the hospital to get a test done.
it was a pretty significant test….at least to me.
he’s had a mass in his colon for almost a year.  the test was to see what needs to be done now.  truly,  what a difference a day makes.
yesterday, the reality of it all hit me…
here we go again…the summer of hospitals, of tests, of uncertainty, of putting my life on hold (yes, I know that is a selfish thought)…the numbness of it all

I can say the words, “I trust you” to God, but do I really?
do I hide behind my ‘spirituality’ in order to not be authentic with God or myself that there are times when I am not sure I do trust Him?
will I get struck by lightning right here as I type that??

I had a pretty sleepless night…
worry? probably.
confusion? definitely.
feeling sorry for myself? yep.

but, I woke up this morning…and told God that I really didn’t have a clue what was going to happen today.  but, I couldn’t worry about it.
(at least, I would try not to)
I went today, not knowing if the mass was still there (I thought for sure that it would be gone – that its purpose was to point out the problem with my dad’s heart) and knowing that God would be in the middle of everything that happened…

and…there it was
in the clouds…
nestled sweetly in the middle of the puffy white billowing clouds….rainbow cloud2
a rainbow.

there was my sign.
a promise from God.

unknowingly, my friend commented to me that “God’s promises still bring true.”
they still do bring true…
clarity…
Truth…
sincerity…

promises to…never leave or desert me…to give me hope, and a future – just to name a couple.

and so, my lack of wisdom and ignorance deserved a sign…
and I got one!

How clearly the sky reveals God’s glory!
How plainly it shows what he has done! – Psalm 19:1 (GNT)

seeing the signs of grace.

Leave a Reply

earlier bits

May 2013
S M T W T F S
« Apr   Jun »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  
