feeling kinda funky

i posted a section of a Proverbs 31 devotion a few days ago, in a moment of vulnerability and honesty.
have you ever felt just in a funk?
you ‘know’ how you should think and thus feel…
you ‘know’ what God says and you believe Him…
you ‘know’ that things won’t always be this way, and that God actually allowed your circumstance to pass through His fingers…
but in the midst of ‘knowing’, living gets crowded out.  yes, you breathe.  yes, you function.  but that is about it.

“One of the worst feelings in the world to me is feeling stuck.   Stuck in a situation where I can’t see things getting better. I look at the next 5 minutes, 5 hours, 5 days, and all I see are the same hard patterns being repeated over and over.   I try to give myself a pep talk and tap into that part of me that chooses to see the bright side. But it isn’t there.   Life suddenly feels like it will forever be this way.   And a dark funk eclipses me… It’s the rhythm of life. The ebb and flow of struggles and victories.   I closed my eyes and whispered, “Are You here God? Hold me. Breathe courage into my weak will. Help me.” – Lysa Terkeurst

the rhythm of life…
so…it’s ok to feel funky sometimes??
the ebb and flow of struggles and victories…
even when you feel more struggling than winning?
hold me.

In the midst of struggles. In the midst of victories. “God, I don’t love this situation. But I love You. Therefore, I have everything I need to keep putting one foot in front of the other until I get to the other side of this.” – Lysa Terkeurst

i have personally had a lot of struggles in the last 6 months to a year, some of which i have blogged about.
i am thankful to have the Word hidden in my heart…because lately, i haven’t been into reading it.  and yet, God has not, and will not, abandon me.  so many times His Word has popped into my head, seemingly from nowhere.

struggle.  work.  exhaustion.  striving. – yep, feeling funky.

“Then I can see this is a season. This isn’t how it’s going to be forever. Though my circumstances may not change today, my outlook surely can. And if my mind can rise above, my heart gets unstuck.” – Lysa Terkeurst

freedom.  contentment.
knowing that God is for me…and nothing can separate me from Him – not even my funky self!
i am still not quite at that point yet…but i am well on my way.

Water you turned into wine, opened the eyes of the blind
there’s no one like you none like You!
Into the darkness you shine out of the ashes we rise
there’s no one like you none like You!
Our God is greater, our God is stronger, God you are higher than any other.
Our God is Healer, Awesome in Power, Our God! Our God!

Into the darkness you shine out of the ashes we rise
there’s no one like you none like You!
Our God is greater, our God is stronger, God you are higher than any other.
Our God is Healer, Awesome in Power, Our God! Our God!
Our God is greater, our God is stronger, God you are higher than any other.
Our God is Healer, Awesome in Power, Our God! Our God!
Our God, Chris Tomlin

grace.

Leave a Reply

earlier bits

November 2012
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Dec »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  
