empty me

“Going through the motions doesn’t please you, a flawless performance is nothing to you. I learned God-worship when my pride was shattered. Heart-shattered lives ready for love don’t for a moment escape God’s notice.” Psalm 51:16-17 MSG

do you think you are prideful??  i surely didn’t…until i read Nancy Leigh DeMoss’ list of evidences of pride.  ouch!!

http://www.reviveourhearts.com/articles/41-evidences-of-pride/

do you resemble any of these? i sure do…
it’s time for me to face the ugly, painful reality of pride in my life that has manifested itself in
my job
my friendships
my family
my church
my relationship with God.

lately, i have felt the need to defend my thoughts, my ideas, my use of time, the words i say…and perhaps this is ok, but for me, it is a very foreign concept.  i believe, there is a fine line between standing up for yourself, not being walked all over, and pride.  i am still investigating that line, i think.
have i been prideful in sticking up for myself?  hmm…perhaps.
have i been prideful in allowing people to use me and walk all over me?  hmm…perhaps.
have i, in the guise of caring and concern, demanded too much of people–that they just aren’t able to give?  hmm…regrettably, yes.

so, where does the balance lie?  i am still exploring that and figuring it out.  but, i believe that if i get real with God, He will make the line visible and show me how to live in balance.

Empty me
Of the selfishness inside
Every vain ambition
And the poison of my pride
And any foolish thing my heart holds to
Lord empty me of me
So i can be
Filled with you – Chris Sligh

 

grace.

Leave a Reply

earlier bits

October 2012
S M T W T F S
« Sep   Nov »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  
