fight, flee, or freeze

You will not leave in a hurry, running for your lives. For the Lord will go ahead of you; yes, the God of Israel will protect you from behind. – Isaiah 52:12 (NLT)

Have you ever been a position where you can:  fight – defend, stand up for; flee – turn and run, escape; or freeze – paralysis?
What is your natural tendency?
For me, I tend to flee or freeze.  Get me out of here, or hide me.

The “fight or flight response” is our body’s primitive, automatic, inborn response that prepares the body to “fight” or “flee” from perceived attack, harm or threat to our survival – Wikipedia

I want to get the heck out of Dodge, or cower and hide.  That sure doesn’t sound like a godly thing to do, does it?  Probably not, but it is an honest response and reaction from me.
I know that I am to don the armor of God and simply stand.  Stand.  not sit, not turn and run (my backside would not be covered), not curl up in a ball. Stand.

When it is all over, you will still be standing.  So stand up and do not be moved. – Ephesians 6:13-14 (NLV)

So, I guess I need to get up from my seated, indignant, self-righteous position…clothe myself in God, all of Him…and simply stand; be still and know that He is God.
*sigh*
….that dark corner sure looks welcoming…

grace.

Leave a Reply

earlier bits

May 2012
S M T W T F S
« Apr   Jun »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  
