smell the color 9

Cause I can sniff, I can see, and I can count up pretty high;
but these faculties aren’t getting me any closer to the sky,
 but my heart of faith keeps poundin’ so I know I’m doin’ fine
 but sometimes findin you is just like tryin to smell the color nine.
Smell the color nine…

These lyrics, by Chris Rice, are very intriguing to me.  Sometimes, as I look for God – for Him in things or just in my own day-to-day stuff, it truly is like trying to smell the color nine.

Nine’s not a color… and if even if it were you can’t smell a color,no that’s my point exactly.

Right?
Do I make life harder than it is?  Sometimes, by my thoughts, my actions, my insecurities (which are many), my ponderings…

It all comes down to faith – belief without the use of our senses – in God.
He is available, approachable, and unavoidable…and yet unseen, untouchable, un-smellable, un-tastable…
Isn’t the thought of Him just amazing?
We don’t see Him or touch Him, but we see the effects of Him everywhere…in other people (that’s why we are the only Jesus some will ever see), in the way He works through situations, His aroma, tasting and seeing that He is indeed good…

And yet, with all of this knowledge, I still think that finding Him is like trying to smell the color 9…

Nine’s not a color… and if even if it were you can’t smell a color,no that’s my point exactly.

 

grace.

 

Check out Does The “Golden Rule” Trump God’s Word?

Check out Does The “Golden Rule” Trump God’s Word?

earlier bits

May 2012
S M T W T F S
« Apr   Jun »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031