i’m glad Jesus is not a hoarder…or is He?

A post from a close friend of mine caused a good, yet brief, discussion on the issue of hoarding.  Have you ever discussed hoarding with anyone?  Well, let me be the first to tell you that there are a various opinions concerning this.  Amazing really.
There are several schools of thought regarding hoarding, and also regarding the television show that chronicles this disorder.  I will refrain from tackling this issue, as it portrayed, and as we tend to think of it.

My recent discussion got my mind churning and thinking about Jesus – is Jesus a hoarder?
Intriguing thought?  I think so.

hoard =a supply or accumulation that is hidden or carefully guarded for preservation, future use, etc.

Squirrels and hamsters tend to hoard food.  We humans have a tendency to hoard ‘stuff’.  But, what about Jesus?
Help me unpack this idea, will you?

First of all, my original title of this post was ‘i’m glad Jesus is not a hoarder’.  I originally began thinking of this in regards to my sin.
He DOES NOT accumulate my sins for future use.  I am so grateful for that!

You see, God takes all our crimes – our seemingly inexhaustible sins – and removes them.
As far as east is from the west, He removes them from us. – Psalm 103:12 (the Voice)


They are gone!  Not only are they removed, they are out of my reach!  They are removed from ME.
That, my friends, is a wonderfully reassuring thought.
Jesus is not a hoarder…of my sins.

But, does He hoard His disciples, those who are fully devoted followers of Him?  According to the above definition, could we not be hoarded by Jesus?  Carefully guarded…
Maybe this is a stretch, but it just may be plausible.

Look here.  I have made you a part of Me, written you on the palms of My hands. – Isaiah 49:16 (the Voice)

Do not fear, for I have redeemed you; I have summoned you by name; you are mine.  – Isaiah 43:1

In your unfailing love preserve my life, that I may obey the statutes of your mouth. – Psalm 119:88

Though I walk   in the midst of trouble, you preserve my life. You stretch out your hand against the anger of my foes; with your right hand 
you save me.  The Lord will vindicate me; your love, Lord, endures forever — do not abandon the works of your hands. – Psalm 138:7-8

For we are the product of His hand, heaven’s poetry etched on lives, created in the Anointed, Jesus, to accomplish the good works God arranged long ago. – Ephesians 2:10 (the Voice)

Interesting, don’t you think?
Although we definitely have the choice to be followers of Jesus, He consumes us when we do make that choice.   He absolutely finds value in us.  He does not want to part with us.  We were created to accomplish great things!

Let me throw another piece of laundry in this suitcase we are unpacking.  Do we hoard Jesus?  Do we think that we have some kind of monopoly in Him, and we choose to keep Him to ourselves and not share Him with the lost and dying?   Or do we hoard Him for our own future use…we do what we want when we want, knowing that He is safely preserved on a shelf for the perfect time when we need Him?

Before all of these thoughts get too muddled, let me just leave you with the original question/statement.

I’m glad Jesus is not a hoarder….or is He?
You decide.

grace. 

Leave a Reply

earlier bits

May 2012
S M T W T F S
« Apr   Jun »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  
