my stomach hurts

   “No man can worship God or love his neighbor on an empty stomach” – Woodrow Wilson

We can all relate to pains in our stomach, right?  Usually, it means that we are sick, or at the very least just don’t feel well.
For me, I just want to be left alone.  I am irritable, grumpy, and just want to sleep.
For others, it is a very effective way to get some attention.  Right?

Does your stomach ever hurt for God?
I know, we tend to limit God to our heart muscle, but do you ever ‘feel’ God in your stomach, your gut?  Sometimes, I just know something in my gut.  And sometimes, I am hungry beyond words for God’s presence to invade my life.

Too often, my stomach hurts from hunger pains.  (If you’ve seen me, you know that I don’t miss a meal. 🙂 )
Hunger for all that is God – truth, justice, love, His presence, His voice.
Hunger that goes unsatisfied because of my stubbornness, my insecurity, my shame, my fears, and my guilt.
And so, I have learned to live with, or at least cope with, hunger pains – knowing all the while that time spent with God, in communion, would satiate the pain and the hurt.
*sigh*
I am a life-long learner, a disciple, with a stomach ache.

Hungry, I come to you
For I know You satisfy
I am empty, but I know
Your love does not run dry  – Kathryn Scott

grace.

Leave a Reply

earlier bits

April 2012
S M T W T F S
« Mar   May »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  
