breathtaking

Breathtaking – thrillingly beautiful, remarkable, astonishing, exciting

the yellows and oranges and reds of the rising and setting sun.
the stirring melodies of notes laced together.
the passion created on canvas with the stroke of a brush.
God’s creation of man and woman.

What takes your breath away?  And I don’t mean the brisk walk up a seemingly small incline on a path through the woods.
Truly, what takes your breath away?
What in your life is thrillingly beautiful and remarkable?
Does your relationship with Christ take your breath away?
Does life without Him create a vacant void that causes your lungs to collapse at the very center of who you are? (Amena Brown)

Whether I am living in the shadows, content on being an observer, or if I am having a “Betsy, what are you doing?” moment, or I don’t do the things that I know I should do…I don’t take the time to allow my breath to be taken away.
The ‘busyness’ of my everyday, of doing and doing, takes precedence over just simply being.

Oh, I long to be so close to God that I fully understand the meaning of Him being breathtaking.

O Jesus, my soul cries out to You.  Take my breath away.

grace.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: on not being able to breathe | bitsofbetsy

Leave a Reply

earlier bits

April 2012
S M T W T F S
« Mar   May »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  
