remember…

remember

bear in mind, call to mind, cite, dig into the past, dwell upon, elicit, fix in the mind, get, go back, have memories, hold dear, keep forever, know by heart, learn, look back, memorize, recall, recollect, refresh memory, relive, remind, retain, ring a bell, strike a note, summon up, think back, treasure

Remember…
Remember when you were just a wee one?  Remember your first kiss? Your first boyfriend?  Your first date?
Remember where you were when….(fill in the blank..)
Remember….
We need to remember a lot of things, don’t we?  appointments, schedules, birthdays, anniversaries…when we put things…why we came into this room or that…sometimes, our heads (thankfully they are attached!)

What do we do when we don’t remember?
shame, guilt, feelings of disappointment, missing out, rescheduling…

or maybe we can’t remember?

Every time I ‘re-live’ my accident, which I did this past Sunday when I was asked to tell ‘my story’…I get caught up on the not remembering part.  How is it at all possible that I don’t remember that day?  (or the couple of days before)  How is that even possible?
And, I will never remember…those days are gone!
*sigh*

Although I am thankful that I don’t have any memory of the accident itself, I will never know what happened.

Then, I am reminded that my lack of memory, not out of choice, is strangely similar to what happens to our sins against God.

“For I will forgive their wickedness and will remember their sins no more.”- Jeremiah 31:34

You see, God takes all our crimes – our seemingly inexhaustible sins – and removes them.  As far as east is from the west, He removes them from us. – Psalm 103:12 (the Voice)

As far as the east is from the west…they are gone!  He remembers them no more!!

“God’s desire is that we strive to be more like Him.  Admitting and turning away from our weakness helps us see Him more clearly.  It frees Him to remove far away from us the debris and devastation of life, and even more importantly, to move those things far away from Him.  Having all our crimes moved as far as the east is from the west gives us room to grow and try again.  God’s unfailing love is forever, and He offers to guide us through the temptations we face until we are able to stand on our own.” – the Voice commentary on Psalm 103

This includes the ‘fallout’ (the debris and devastation) from your accident, Betsy.  I have removed it from you, so that you can see Me clearly and not get bogged down my the chaos and misery.  It has been removed!  Remember, I am doing a new thing in You! – God

Lord, help me to not remember….
I want to see You, not the crud.
Not remembering is part of Christ-likeness, and that is my goal.  Help me embrace all of being what Christ means and looks like.

grace.

Leave a Reply

earlier bits

March 2012
S M T W T F S
« Feb   Apr »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031
