God is weird

No, that is not a typo…God is weird.

weird – involving or suggesting the supernatural; unearthly or uncanny

synonyms – awe-inspiring, curious, mysterious, uncanny, unnatural

I, on the other hand, am certainly not weird….at all!! (insert a major guffaw here) 🙂

Oh, I digress!  Back to ‘God is weird’.  ahem…

Too often we think of ‘weird’ as odd and abnormal and bizarre.  That is not exactly what I mean when I say that God is weird.  And maybe I consider His ways weird, but as I have been thinking about this, I really do think that God is weird!

Yesterday, I had the distinct and humbling opportunity to share my life story with a group of senior high youth at a neighboring church.  Not only was it a humbling experience, but it was enjoyable and God used it to reaffirm in my spirit that He has always known what the future for me, His plan for my life, has been.
I know what I’m doing. I have it all planned out—plans to take care of you, not abandon you, plans to give you the future you hope for. – Jeremiah 29:11 (MSG)

…overweight, introverted, ‘shy’, the ‘good girl’, a loner, brainy…who would have ever thought that God would use that girl (me) to reach and teach and share?
God is weird.
…depressed, alone, fearful, scared, suicidal….who would have ever thought that God would use that experience to impact someone else’s life?
God is weird.
…car accident, coma, rehabilitation, injury, ‘damaged’ goods…who would have ever thought that that incident would become a pivotal door through which I would enter into healing and restoration of my spirit?
God is weird.

To read more of ‘my story’ check out this is my story and my tempest.

What about you?  Look back at your life…have there been times when you have wondered what God is doing?

God tells us in Isaiah,
“I don’t think the way you think.    The way you work isn’t the way I work.”  – Isaiah 55:8 (MSG)
Isn’t it a relief and a consolation to know that He doesn’t think or work the way we do?  Boy! am I thankful for that!
Have you had experiences that you can look back on and see the hand of God at work?  I’d love to hear about them.

God is certainly inexplicable and extraordinary, mysterious and miraculous, incredible and remarkable.
God is weird.
And I suppose that because we have joined with Him on this journey, that He has taken ahold of us…that makes us weird too! 😉

grace.


Leave a Reply

earlier bits

March 2012
S M T W T F S
« Feb   Apr »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031
