walking by faith

Sunny days.  Warm weather.
Ohio in March??

We have been blessed with unordinary weather patterns in the past couple of weeks.  Yesterday, I took advantage of an unusual March day, and went on a walk with a friend of mine.  The day was beautiful, the path was clear, and the conversation along the way was good.  Oh, the sweating part was the only downside? 🙂

Do you like to walk?
A few years ago I trained to walk in the Cleveland Marathon.  I committed myself to the training, to getting healthy, to finishing.  If you know me at all, you know that this was a shocking feat!
Three hours and 33 minutes and 13.2 miles later, the finish line was crossed!!

Show me the right path, O LORD;  point out the road for me to follow. Lead me by your truth and teach me, for you are the God who saves me.  All day long I put my hope in you. -Psalm 25:3-4 (NLT)

Not all of us will walk or run in a marathon, or even train for one, but we all walk everyday along the path that God has set out for us.  As we journey on that road, we don’t always have the smoothest trail, or the clearest path.
And then, there are things which capture our attention and shift our focus from the journey.

We see…
We hear…
We touch…
We smell…
We taste…
We totally rely on our senses to bring us safely to the end of whatever journey we are on.
Where does faith come into play?  What does it mean to walk by faith?

When we have faith in God and walk in that faith, we don’t always see or hear or touch or smell or taste.

It’s what we trust in but don’t yet see that keeps us going. Do you suppose a few ruts in the road or rocks in the path are going to stop us?
– 2 Corinthians 5:7-8
(MSG)

 
We trust…blindly.
We obey…intentionally.
We embrace…whole heartedly.
We breathe in…with gusto.
We devour…passionately.

grace.

Leave a Reply

earlier bits

March 2012
S M T W T F S
« Feb   Apr »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031
