animated

an·i·mat·ed – full of life, action, or spirit; lively; vigorous

Animation.  Cartoons.  Walt Disney.  Bugs Bunny.  Looney Tunes.
Bringing inanimate objects to life…isn’t that the essence of ‘animation’?
What about you and me?  What ‘animates’ us?
Greed.  Self-centeredness.  Hatred.  Unfairness.   People taking advantage.  Meanness.  Inconsideration.
Do those things just get your blood pumping?
hmmm…
the flesh.
If you live your life animated by the flesh – namely, your fallen, corrupt nature – then your mind is focused on the matters of the flesh.  But if you live your life animated by the Spirit – namely God’s indwelling presence – then your focus is on the work of the Spirit. – Romans 8:5 (the Voice)

What are some results of a life ‘brought to life’ by the flesh…our selfish, fallen, corrupt, God-less nature…animated by the flesh?
“looking out for number one”…’me’first…attemping to satisfy…contempt…greed…lust…envy…anger and rage…seeking revenge…a feeling of ‘it’s not fair’…
Sounds like a great time, right??

But…what are the results of a life animated, brought to life, by the Spirit?
…things like affection for others, exuberance about life, serenity…develop a willingness to stick with things, a sense of compassion in the heart, and a conviction that a basic holiness permeates things and people…loyal commitments, not needing to force our way in life, able to marshal and direct our energies wisely.  (Galatians 5:22-23, MSG)
love….joy….peace

So, I ask you…what has been animating you?
I would love to say that I am constantly focused on the work of the Spirit, and that is what bring life to my body everyday.  But, I regrettably find myself on the fleshly side of things.  I focus on things that satifsfy.  I get in the dumps when things don’t go my way or I am ignored or devalued.  Words that are spoken to me, cut straight to my heart.

And so, I have to confess that I have been recently animated not by the Spirit, but by my own flesh.
*sigh*

Now, since we have chosen to walk with the Spirit, let’s keep each step in perfect sync with God’s Spirit.  This will happen shen we set aside our self-interests and work together to create true community instead of a culture consumed by provocation, pride, and envy. – Galatians 5:25-26 (the Voice)

Verse 6 goes on to say:  a mind focused on the flesh is doomed to death, but a mind focused on the Spirit will find full life and complete peace.

Focus, my friends.
You are beautiful.  You are chosen.  You are a daughter of the King.
Be made alive with the Spirit – soar and run free!

grace.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. karocks836
    Mar 16, 2012 @ 11:21:14

    We have been focused on the wrong, albeit in-your-face, things my friend. we have not been focused on the “things like affection for others, exuberance about life, serenity…a willingness to stick with things, a sense of compassion in the heart”. forgive me for divulging in the wrong focus, for not shining His light in the muck of living out the Manna Project. Thank you for this reminder.

    Reply

    • bitsofbetsy
      Mar 16, 2012 @ 11:33:20

      this post was as much a reminder/kick in the butt for me as for anyone. and, of course i forgive you…
      i ask you for your forgiveness as well for being wrapped up in the muck, and allowing it to consume me. *sigh*

      Reply

Leave a Reply

earlier bits

March 2012
S M T W T F S
« Feb   Apr »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031
