so, you think you can dance?

I know I can’t dance.  A friend and I once joked that I could “chair-dance” with the best of them, but when I stood up – well, then it was a totally different story!  I watch “Dancing with the Stars” with longing and yearning to be that graceful and coordinated.  And, I was raised in a church that, at the time, did not condone dancing of any kind, so that area of ‘exercise’ was frowned upon.  My dancing shoes never made it out of the box.

It’s funny, this whole notion of dancing.  Feeling the rhythm of the music.  Swaying in time with the music.

Enter God.

It’s funny, this whole notion of dancing.  Knowing the music – the notes, the sounds, the rhythm.  Moving in time with Him, following His footsteps.

“We can so easily get lost in the constant demands of life that we develop habits of nonstop busyness and wonder why we feel empty and isolated. We need to develop a dance of life in which we regularly disengage from life as usual and get away with God for rest and renewal. Then we can engage once again in the life and love of God and others. Life in these rhythms becomes a dance with the Trinity—Father, Son and Holy Spirit—along with all of the people around us.” -from “Spiritual Rhythms in Community” by Keith Meyer

What is your current ‘dance of life?  Choreographing your own steps, dancing solo?  Chair-dancing, but not putting feet to the music?

Are we so engaged with God, that out of our love for Him and His love for us, we can’t help but enter into a dance – not only with Him, but with those around us – that His rhythms become such a part of us that we become one?

Hmmm…

Let that sink in.  Ponder that.  Contemplate.

Do you think you can dance?

You did it: you changed wild lament into whirling dance;   

You ripped off my black mourning band and decked me with wildflowers.   

I’m about to burst with song;  I can’t keep quiet about you.   

God, my God, I can’t thank you enough. ~Psalm 30:11-12 (MSG)

 

grace.

Leave a Reply

earlier bits

February 2012
S M T W T F S
« Jan   Mar »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
26272829  
