the winter of discontent

Seasons.

Spring marks the beginning of new growth.  Summertime is hot and sunny and is a time to cultivate that growth that started in the spring.  Then comes fall.  I love the fall, the change in the temperature, the changing colors of the leaves.  Autumn seems to be the time of year in between what was and what is to come.  Then comes winter.   Cold and snow.   Hibernation.  The ending of something so that a new beginning can transpire.

Seasons.  I don’t know about you, but my walk with God also has seasons.

New growth.  Maturity.  Epiphanies.  A deeper understanding.

Engaging with the Word.  Fellowship.  Courageous obedience.  Passionate prayer.

Decreased awareness of God’s work.  Questions.  Emptiness.

Discontent.  Restlessness.  Wanting to retreat from everything.

Season.  Period.  Time.  Occasion.  Term.

Each interval is not the same in duration – some are relatively short, but profound, and some are seemingly never-ending and meaningless.

Right now, I am finding myself in a winter season.  So, I could retreat from everything – throw my hands up and just simply walk away…

or I could dive into the Word, into prayer, and earnestly petition God for wisdom, strength, and peace.

Demonstrate Your ways, O Eternal One.  Teach me to understand so I can follow.  Ease me down the path of Your truth.  Feed me Your word because You are the True God who has saved me.  I wait all day long, hoping, trusting in You.  Gracious Eternal One, remember Your compassion; rekindle Your concern and love, which have always been part of Your actions toward those who are Yours. ~Psalm 25:4-6 (the Voice)

I am anticipating, longing for the winter of my discontent – to be made new with every season’s change.

grace.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

earlier bits

January 2012
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Feb »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  
