intervention

In our cell phone age, we have become accustomed to drop calls, conversations that are ‘broken up’, and dead zones.  How many times do we experience any one of those things in a week, in a day?  How many times have you said, “I’m sorry, you’re breaking up.  Can you repeat that?”

Do you ever feel that your conversations with God go through the same gamut?

  • God, what did you say?
  • I’m sorry, could You repeat that?
  • We have a bad connection, I’ll call You right back.
  • Hi God…God?…hello?…God?

Then, through those ‘broken’ airwaves, Satan enters in through our most vulnerable place.  For some of us, it’s through our hearts.  For me, it is definitely through my head – the thoughts I have about myself, the words that others have spoken to or about me, the lies I often believe to be true.

The result is a disconnect between my head and my heart.  My life becomes consumed with unnecessary and unwanted doubts, fears, worries, insecurities…  I need Jesus to fill in that gap, to be that Connector – to speak truth into my life.

Don’t fret or worry. Instead of worrying, pray. Let petitions and praises shape your worries into prayers, letting God know your concerns. Before you know it, a sense of God’s wholeness, everything coming together for good, will come and settle you down. It’s wonderful what happens when Christ displaces worry at the center of your life. – Philippians 4:6-7 (MSG)

Difficulties are going to come our way, my friends.  But, God is able to do more than anything we could ever hope or imagine!  Take a minute to think about the times in your life or in the lives of those around you when God has gone above and beyond what you even imagine or expect.  Our God is faithful, and He Will Do It!!  (see Ephesians 3:20-21 and 1 Thessalonians 5:24)

Today, I need an intervention – for Jesus to come and close fix that disconnection between my head and my heart.  I need an interruption in my routine of self-doubt so that I can see what God is doing, and hear Him when He calls.

Can I hear Him now?

grace.

 

Leave a Reply

earlier bits

January 2012
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Feb »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  
