who are you?

Spirit Awards.

I think that is what they were called in high school.  We dedicated an entire page, maybe two of them in the yearbook to the recipients of things like “Most Likely to Succeed” or “Most Athletic” or “Cutest Couple.”  Remember those?

Were you the recipent of one?  I was.  I know, I know – you are thinking “most athletic” right? 🙂  ahem.

Well, actually I did receive the coveted “Most Studious” award, or the nerd award as I like to call it.

In a weird way, that designation of ‘nerd’ either helped to shape who I am  or I just naturally ‘grew’ into that label.

knowledge.  intellect.  figure things out.  organization.  predictability.  prepared.  reliable.

Descriptions of who I am…or at least the me I want others to see – the me I want God to see.

In and of themselves, these qualities are not dreadful or unacceptable.  The problem arises when we keep all of our relationships, especially our friendship with God – at shoulder level.  We don’t make the ‘head – heart’ connection.

Our heads take over and almost dictate our hearts – there is not a harmonious melody between the two.  Instead, there is a discord between our thoughts and emotions.

I think that is why Paul writes to us in Romans, that we are to be transformed by the renewing of your minds.  What we think.  Who we think we are.  Who we think others think we are.  The foothold we allow Satan to have in our thoughts is enough to destroy us.

That, my friends, is NOT who you are.  You are NOT defeated by Satan.  You are NOT the person others think or say you are.

As a child of God, you are not who you were.  You are being remade!  You are new!  (check out Jason Gray’s song, I Am New.)

And sometimes, we need  a reminder of who we really are.

Tell me once again who I am to you.

 Who I am to you.

 Tell me lest I forget who I am to you.

 That I belong to you.

 To you.

grace.

Leave a Reply

earlier bits

January 2012
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Feb »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  
